Check out #YA book from @ljstark321 for a powerful story of challenges, risks and rewards #contemporary #fiction

When a Unicorn Crosses the Rubicon

Meet Angie and Taylor. 

They seem to have everything going in the right direction for themselves as young adults. The next steps in life are on the horizon and ready to be seized—until life changes those plans.

They find themselves crossing the threshold of lost innocence into unfamiliar territory.

There is no turning back. Can they endure the change? And what kind of people will they become on the other side?

In When a Unicorn Crosses the Rubicon, author Lloyd Goulbourne introduces us to friends and neighbors Angie and Taylor. They seem to have everything going for them during their senior year of high school. Like many teens, Angie and Taylor believe they are fully prepared to undertake the next scripted challenges in life—until life changes their plans.

In the book you will share their pain as they overcome personal tragedy and are forced to face their demons with explosive results. You may know someone like Angie, Taylor and the others. You may even see some of yourself in them.

In the face of tragedy, they demonstrate strength as well as vulnerability, just like many of those we encounter every day.

Below, Lloyd Goulbourne talks about his new novel, When a Unicorn Crosses the Rubicon, and gives us a little insight into the man behind the author and the making of When a Unicorn Crosses the Rubicon.

How many unpublished books/stories do you have lurking under your bed?

I’m not sure.  I’ve lost count honestly.  I try to keep a list in my phone and check it every couple days and add to it as ideas come in while I’m busy working on something else.  Just to put a number to the question, I have 13 books/stories I’ve started and either written passages for or worked on characters for.

How do your juggle a writing schedule?

I do most of my writing at night time or on planes.  There’s something about being on a plane for a 4 to 5 hour flight to really get my mind going in the direction of writing.  In between, I try my best to take note of ideas and inspirations as they come in.  There’s many times I’ll just record my thoughts while I’m driving instead of just trying to remember them.  Experience has taught me that I never remember quite the same as how I first had them.

What’s the best/worst part of being a writer?

The best part for me is the journey of creating characters and/or building an entire world.  The entire process is like meeting a lover for the first time in a way, there’s the initial introduction then the phases of learning that person and finally there’s the plateau of living within that person’s life and integrating them into your own.  The worst part of being a writer is linked to the best part; sometimes I can become so engrossed in my characters and the worlds that I’m building I begin to lose the line between what I’ve created and what’s actually happening in the real world.  I often find that my dreams and my writing will bleed together and when I wake up it can take me a moment to decipher between the two.

Do you start your projects writing with paper and pen or is it all on the computer?

It’s a mix of old school and new school I suppose.  Often times I write down my ideas on paper and where I can draw notes and pictures easily then as they grow I begin to take notes on my phone or type up the beginnings to stories on my laptop.

How do you deal with bad reviews?

Bad reviews are a challenge to me, I’m what people call ‘thick-skinned’ so I take any real criticism as directions for improvement.  Although some criticisms can be defended against, those moments give me as a writer a chance to defend my work and perhaps help my critic see something they may have missed or interpreted differently than I meant it.

Promoting is something ALL authors struggle with. How are you managing yours?

Promoting has been the aspect of becoming an author that I have had the most difficulty with.  As a writer I never feel like I want to sell people on my work, I’d prefer it to just speak for it self, that isn’t the real world though.  As an author the aspect of promoting can’t be ignored, I’m doing a lot more research and finding new ways to get acclimated to the entire enterprise.

Why did you write this particular book? (What was the spark that made you put pen to paper?) 

This book began as one short story where I challenged myself to write from a position I’d never written from before.  There’s nothing wrong with writing things that are comfortable to write, but i believe that growth can be hard to come by without some deal of discomfort.  As I dived deeper into the characters I found myself wanting more from them and from myself.  I began developing them into my other works and soon enough I had an entire arc just for them that will eventually lead into other stories.

What is your book about? Genre, theme, essence etc.

The book is about a few different things.  The major themes are facing your demons, loss of innocence and the depths of human depravity.  I think that those elements are continually apart of our society today.  How we deal with them often determines who we become for better or worse.

Was there a character you struggled with?

I struggled with Angie a great deal due to the sensitivity of her situation.  I didn’t want to regurgitate what I or the world thinks someone in her position should do and I also didn’t want to create a world that was completely unreasonable.  While I feel I crafted a story that toes the line I suppose only time will tell.

When did you first call yourself a writer?

For as long as I can remember I’ve been a writer.  I remember reading and copying Shakespeare and Big Bird’s Day at the farm as my very first books.  That helped me get to a point where I would mix imaginative children’s stories with the concepts of tragedies and comedies from Shakespeare.  From that point on I wrote stories and poems whenever I could.

For more from Lloyd Goulbourne visit:

Website | Twitter Amazon | Facebook | Goodreads

41dnwg0rqcl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Anything you want to say about this post?

