Why I didn’t go down the traditional route of publishing by @MichelePW

by
Michele Pariza Wacek

MI

I’d like to start by saying I never thought I’d be writing an article like this.

For years, I was focused on following the traditional publishing path. I had friends who had self published and I privately thought they were out of their minds. (This was before Kindle/Nook and print on demand, so self publishing then looked very different than it does now.) I was determined to be published the traditional way and did everything you were “supposed” to — bought what was considered the “bible” of contact info for book agents and publishers every year (and it cost nearly a hundred dollars a pop), wrote query letters, attended writer’s conferences.

Eventually I found myself both an agent and an associate editor from Bantam Dell interested in my book.

I thought I was on my way.

But, I was on wrong.

It didn’t happen.

So, I gave up.

For ten years.

Now, what I didn’t know then and what I do know now, is I needed that ten years.

For much of my writing life, I thought the reason why I would never consider any form of self publishing was because I couldn’t get the distribution of a traditional publisher.

And, while that certainly sounded like a reasonable reason, and there was even a bit of truth buried in there, it wasn’t the real reason.

The REAL reason why I didn’t want to self publish is because I wanted the external validation of having a traditional publishing house and an agent want ME.

My personal and spiritual development journey is too long to go into here (and it also happened while I was wearing my other hat, that of an entrepreneur who owns an Internet marketing and copywriting company) but suffice to say I don’t feel like having a traditional publisher is all that necessary to becoming successful as a writer.

(Of course, it depends on what your definition of success is — mine is to get my work out there so as many people as possible can read my books, and that is very much a doable goal if you self publish.)

Now, there’s no question there are drawbacks doing it on your own. (Of course, there are drawbacks having a publisher, so it just depends on what drawbacks you want to put up with.) You have to front all the money to publishing it. You have to make sure you get the book properly edited and have a talented designer work on the cover. You have to have a marketing plan … oh wait, you need a marketing plan even WITH a traditional publisher. And, you don’t have the external validation of someone saying “I believe in you and I’m going to publish your book.”

This last one may be the toughest one to get around. But, quite honestly, it’s the one you absolutely MUST get around … ESPECIALLY if you decide to publish the traditional route.

The last thing you want is to choose how you’re going to publish on the wrong reason. And wanting external validation is absolutely a wrong reason.

So, if you’re an author considering various publishing options, before you choose, I’d like to invite you to get quiet and really feel into the one that’s right for you. There are a lot of different publishing options out there and it’s important to pick the right one for you.

Don’t pick it out of wanting to be wanted, or wanting to be liked, or guilt, or fear, or shame or any other emotion other than a deep sense of knowing this is the right option for YOU.

You’ve got this. I believe in you.

Mirror Image

 Which would be worse, knowing that your dead sister has come back to life and is now a serial killer or that someone else is the killer….and that person is you?

Six months after Linda’s sister Elizabeth killed herself, Linda has finally gotten her life back to some semblance of normalcy. Until a killer appears who is stalking men … a killer who resembles Elizabeth … a killer who seems somehow familiar to Linda.

And, to make matters worse, Steve, her old high school crush and now a detective, is assigned to this case. He’s asking Linda all sorts of questions, questions Linda couldn’t possibly have an answer to.

There’s no reason for him to be investigating Linda. She couldn’t possibly have anything to do with this.

Could she?

Mirror Image by Michele Pariza Wacek  Published on May 27, 2016  Genres: Psychological ThrillerSuspense

  michele pw (1)
When Michele was 3 years old, she taught herself to read because she wanted to write stories so badly.

As you can imagine, writing has been a driving passion throughout her life. She became a professional copywriter (which is writing promotional materials for businesses), which led to her founding a copywriting and marketing company that serves clients all over the world.

Along with being a copywriter, she also writes novels (in fact, she just published her first novel, a psychological thriller/suspense/mystery called “The Stolen Twin” and her second novel “Mirror Image’” is set to be published in May 2016) plus, she is also the author of the “Love-Based Copy” books, which are a part of the “Love-Based Business” series and cover both business and personal development.

She holds a double major in English and Communications from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Currently she lives in the mountains of Prescott, Arizona with her husband Paul and her border collie Nick and southern squirrel hunter Cassie.

Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Amazon

wwbadgeweb
a Rafflecopter giveaway

3 thoughts on “Why I didn’t go down the traditional route of publishing by @MichelePW

  1. Pingback: Tour: Mirror Image | Worldwind Virtual Book Tours

  2. I enjoyed reading this guest post and saved it too as a reminder for when I actually put a book together. I suppose most if not all writers have that thing of wanting to be traditionally published, just to get a feeling of worth. However, traditional publishing just seems to be a big word not, something that’s been given too much credit, while self-publishing seems to be on the rise, even if it has more requirements in terms of publicity and marketing and so on.

    Anyways, glad I read this.

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to say about this post?

