Syncing Forward – a dystopian time travel novel

What W Lawrence has learned about himself since writing…

march syncing%20banner
A woman at work approached me saying she heard that I wrote a book and she wanted to read it. She is a big reader and heads a book club in her apartment complex. Starry eyed, wide smile, you would think she met a movie star (newsflash – I am not movie star material). However, she gushed over me without ever reading a single word, saying she admired how ‘brave’ I was to ‘put myself out there’.

I learned I am brave.

Never knew that before. I’ve been accused of being assertive, maybe even brazen, but brave never made the ticker in my head. Apparently publishing counts me as courageous, and I get it in some respects. There are elements of me and my family in my writing, and opening that to anyone who is willing to shell out a few bucks is an intimidating prospect.

So why do it? For me, writing this book seemed obligatory. Not because of the content but because of where the story came from. One night I had a dream, and this story ran through my brainpan from beginning to end. When I woke up I could not get over the feeling I had been given a gift, and to squander it seemed at best case ungrateful, or worst case dangerous. I know, some of you are thinking dreams are merely a random combination of elements of my life, television shows, and the chili dog I ate the previous night. Maybe so. But I’m not sure where dreams come from, so there was no sense in taking any chances. Does God want me to be a writer? Maybe. Maybe he just wants you to give me three bucks. Regardless…

I learned I have faith.

SFaudible

Writing. I get I’m not Hemmingway. I don’t drink enough for one. However, my goal for writing my first novel was never to be amongst the giants. I wanted to tell a story, and it’s a good one. At least 4.4 out of 5 people seem to think so. That 0.6 person hated it, but he also hated Ready Player One, and runs over sacks of kittens on the way to work…

I learned that you can’t please everyone.

And if you are thinking about authoring a book, that 0.6 person is probably your best friend. Think about how many times you walked around with your fly down or a mustard stain on your shirt or section of your face (leg for the ladies) you missed while shaving. Ten hours later you get home and look in the mirror and wonder ‘why’.

WHY?! Why did nobody say anything? Your friends, colleagues, people who supposedly respect you. That group of people who were laughing at your joke were actually laughing at your shirt corner sticking out through your zipper. WHY!??!?!?!?

Think about it. Somebody – a stranger (or in my case my dad) – hated your book and took the time to let you know what they didn’t like. How awesome is that? They may have even itemized everything they felt was wrong with your work. Once you get over the soul crushing mission of swallowing your pride and admitting you will not be seated next to Steinbeck in Heaven’s Gala, you have a checklist of items to review for your next book. So, don’t get mad at HuskyRider495 who trashed your book. Thank you, ma’am. I know you are only 0.6 of a person and you poke random babies with pins as you walk by their strollers, but you took the time to tell me what was wrong. You are awesome. And you have inspired me to do better next time. You know why?

I learned I have more than one idea in me.

As I wrote, I found myself thinking of all sorts of ideas. Some crazy, some fragmented. Characters, scenes, one liners. I write them all down. I keep a book with all my ideas in it, and I add to it weekly. I also have a concealed carry permit and can shoot the stinger off a wasp, so don’t even think about trying to lift it. Besides, if you wait for June, you should get a new book out of me. Keep your eyes peeled.

Website / Twitter / Facebook / Goodreads

1st Place for 2015 Feathered Quill Award, Science Fiction/Fantasy

Finalist in the 2014 Book Pipeline Contest

–Travel to the future – it will only cost you everyone you love.–

Attacked and injected with a drug which slows his metabolism to a fraction of normal, Martin James becomes an unwilling time traveler who hurtles through the years. His children grow up, his wife grows older, and his only hope is finding the people who injected him in the first place- not an easy task when one day for Martin lasts four years. And while Martin James strives to find a cure before everyone he loves is gone, others are uncertain if his journey can be stopped at all.

march syncing

W. Lawrence weaves a dystopian future filled with the best and worst of humanity, highlights the blessings and curses of technology, and pushes the limits of faith and hopelessness. Above all, Syncing Forward is a tale of one man’s love for his family, and their devotion to saving him from being lost forever.

Amazon | Audible | B&N Nook | Kobo | iBooks | Oakleaf Books | Book Depository | KOBO

Half.com | Alibris | Google Play  

 WLawrenceW Lawrence was born in San Francisco, California, and moved two dozen times before settling in Pennsylvania with his extraordinarily patient wife and two precocious daughters. He wants a boy dog. He works in the world of corporate security as an investigator and professional interviewer/interrogator.

Lawrence is obsessed with 5K zombie runs, comes home empty-handed from hunting turkeys, and loves non-fiction books about pirates. He has no problem reconciling that his two favorite shows are Downton Abbey and The Walking Dead.

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY! 

amazon%20gift%20card%20prize
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Brought to you by Worldwind Virtual Book Tours

2 thoughts on “Syncing Forward – a dystopian time travel novel

Anything you want to say about this post?

