Janet Lane-Walters talks about her journey into the indie world.

My plunge into being published began in 1968 with short stories. There were many, many magazines carrying fiction. When that market dried up, and on the suggestion of an editor that my short story sounded like a synopsis for a novel, I honed my skills in that direction.

My first books published in 1972 were hard back mostly for libraries but I did sell more than enough to receive royalties over the advance. Learning to write novels took some time. There is a vast difference between short stories to novels. Many kind editors along with their rejections sent directions for strengthening the first story that finally sold, about sixteen rewrites accomplished this goal. Three novels later and a major move, plus children reaching college age, I returned to work as a nurse to help with those expenses.

Then I returned to writing and found an entire new system in place. No longer did the publishers want to see the entire book for fiction but they wanted a synopsis and some chapters. Most required an agent. Fortunately, a friend pitched my return book to her editor and I ended up with a contract. I struggled to learn how to write a synopsis, not well if one can think of the rejections I received from agents. Then I discovered electronic publishing and was off and running.

Amazingly some of the books sold well, even gaining me an audio contract for one of the books. This was 1998 and what one received was a floppy disc with the book so the book could be read on the computer. The first eReader arrived and sales continued and so did the books published by electronic publishers. Some of the books were also in print but electronic sold better than print. There are now many readers on the market including reading on the phone. I’m some forty or more books out there for people to read. People often ask if I would go back to writing for one of the major print houses.

I love the ability to write the books I want to write without worrying about sticking to a genre so electronic publishing is my path. – Janet Lane-Walters

The Aries/Libra Connection

Jenessa is Aries, a nurse, union advocate and likes a good fight.
Eric is Libra, Director of Nursing, and believes in compromise.

Walters-AriesLibra

Can these two find a way to uncover the underhanded events at the hospital?
They’re on opposite sides but the attraction between them is strong. She’s a widow who fought to save her husband’s life during a code. She feels guilty because the love she and her husband shared had died before his death.
He assisted at the code but he feels guilty since he was the one who was responsible for the short staffing the night her husband died.
Now they face falling in love and trying to solve the problems between the nurses’ union and the president of the Board who wants a take over of the hospital by his hospital group.
Is their connection strong enough to survive?

Buy NOW

Website | Blog | Amazon | Barnes and Noble 

2 thoughts on “Janet Lane-Walters talks about her journey into the indie world.

  1. Pingback: No Wasted Ink Writer’s Links | No Wasted Ink

Anything you want to say about this post?

